“Taken” (A Particular Set of Skillz)

NFL Europe Defensive MVP

NCAA sixth leading rebounder 2002

 

 

 

 

 

 

For those of you who are not familiar with the movie “Taken”, allow me to bring you up to speed. A father’s teenage daughter joined her friend on a summer tour across Europe. Soon after they arrived in Europe, they were taken by men who were selling young girls as sex slaves. There’s a defining scene in the movie where the girl’s father was on the phone with her kidnappers. During the conversation, the father explained to the kidnappers that he possessed a “particular set of skills” that made him a nightmare for people like them.  By the end of the movie, the father exercised his particular set of skills to rescue his daughter and indeed became the kidnappers’ worst nightmare.

Throughout my career I’ve been able to take advantage of my particular set of skills to become a nightmare for my competition. In college, I used my particular set of skills when I played basketball and ultimately became one of the nation’s top rebounders. Also, during my NFL career, I used my skill as a pass rusher to become the MVP of NFL Europe in 2004. Now, I use my skills as a speaker and consultant to help entrepreneurs and corporations perform at the highest levels possible.

Do you have a particular set of skills? If so, what are they? I find that most people have a particular set of skills that comes to them naturally, but only few know what they are and how to profit from them. It wasn’t until my junior year in college that I realized that I had a talent for rebounding. My head coach at the time was Trent Johnson, who currently serves as the head coach for Texas Christian University (TCU). He uncovered my natural skill of rebounding when I played for him.  In fact, during a meeting in his office, he shared with me information that caused my career to elevate to levels that no one could predict.

Do you want to become a nightmare for your competition? Do you want your business or career to take flight high above all exceptions? If the answer is yes, I suggest that you not only evaluate yourself, but ask the people who know you best to give you their thoughts on what your best qualities are as a professional. Knowing what you do best could greatly increase your profits and possibly push you to the very top of your industry. Focusing on your strengths, which is your particular set of skills, will allow you to improve in other areas as well. Once I realized that my strength was rebounding, I focused on that skill set and worked hard on perfecting it.  As a result, my scoring improved greatly. In fact, my scoring average doubled. So, as you can see, identifying and tapping into your natural skills puts you in a position to perfect the things that you do best and to improve in the areas in which you’re not as good.  So, I advise you to focus relentlessly on your skills and become a nightmare for the competition as I’ve done repeatedly in my career.

To book me for your upcoming conference/event go to www.coreyjacksonspeaks.com 

Corey Jackson is a former NFL athlete that leveraged his athletic career to build a lucrative career as a professional speaker, business consultant, coach and investor. Corey’s journey to success began at the age of nineteen when he made the decision to quit his seven dollar an hour job and pursue his life-long dream of becoming a professional athlete. At that time, Corey had no idea that his decision would lead him down the path he is on today. As a businessman, Corey has the pleasure of working with multi-billion dollar companies and organizations, current and former professional athletes, politicians, and colleges by providing them with his philosophies on how to live a “winning lifestyle.” Combining the skills he learned as a professional athlete and businessman, Corey developed a proven process that is designed to increase one’s personal value, performance, and income in record time. He believes that one who lives a winning lifestyle not only exists, but dominates and performs at the highest level possible every day. Corey’s philosophies and processes can be implemented right away for quick and immediate results and are applicable to every industry and profession. After hearing Corey speak, you will have an understanding of how to dominate your space, how to perform like a champion daily, and will feel more certain about your future than ever. Contact Corey @ www.coreyjacksoninc.com

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Belief, Business

Leave a comment

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 635 other subscribers
Blog Stats
  • 5,432 hits